A Visit To My Grandparents, In Verse.

Part One: Pantry Love

My safta cooks for me when I come visit

In her pantry all the ingredients; kilos and liters for

Couscous, beef, meatballs, roast chicken, fried fish, olive salad, matbucha, harissa

garlic, cilantro and cumin perfume.

It tastes so good

I buy the same ingredients

but when I make it at home it does not.

Part Two: Garden Treasure

My saba likes to grow things

 olive trees and pomegranates out back

The herb called flio he puts in his tea-

tastes like mint but not quite

Street cats come to sunbathe

they follow you around; friendly, hopeful

he feeds them too.

One comment on “A Visit To My Grandparents, In Verse.

  1. […] landmass, and barring the city of Be’ersheva as well as a few small towns (including Dimona, where my grandparents live), that landmass is mostly devoid of human life. The Negev’s […]

Leave a Reply

